General Information
General Information


Armenia is a country with a unique and diverse historical and cultural heritage located at the crossroads between the East and the West.

Armenians are one of the ancient nations of Western Asia. The creation of the first Armenian kingdom of Urartu traces back to the sixth century B.C. Under Tigran the Great (95-55 BC) the kingdom of Greater Armenia became a powerful empire of Western Asia with boundaries that were starched from the Caspian to the Mediterranean seas. 

In 301 AD Armenia became the first country to proclaim Christianity as a state religion. The Cathedral of Ejmiatsinm the religious center of Armenia, built in 303 AD is listed as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. 

The current Republic of Armenia declared its sovereignty on August 23, 1990, and independence on September 23, 1991. Today, the country is a member of the United Nations, the Council of Europe, the World Trade Organization, the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe. In 2015, the Republic of Armenia became a member of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) which defines a unified customs territory with Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Belarus, offering free movement of goods and capital within the member states. At the same time, Armenia has signed free trade agreements with Georgia and most of the CIS countries. The country currently enjoys GSP status with Canada, Japan, Norway, Switzerland and the United States. 

Due to its unique location and its people, Armenia is a bridge between Iran, the EAEU and the EU. This is a country with access to the EAEU market of over 180 million consumers, with exceptional resources, diverse traditions and cultures, which creates excellent opportunities for implementation of new business ideas. 


Official name: The Republic of Armenia 

Form of Government: Parliamentary Republic

Head of State: President 

Head of Government: Prime Minister 

Population: 2.9 million

Ethnic Population: 98.1% Armenians

Minorities: Russians, Yezidis, Kurds, Assyrians, Greeks and others 

Area: 29,743 km²

10 provinces (marzes)  

Capital: Yerevan   

Major Cities: Gyumri, Vanadzor

National Currency: Armenian Dram

Language: Armenian

Widely used languages: Russian, English, French

Religion: Christianity (Armenian Apostolic Church) 

Diaspora: about 8 million with the largest communities in the Russia, USA, France and Germany

Country Domain: .am 

Labor Force: 60.7%

Literacy Rate: 99% 

Time Zone: GMT +4



Armenia Investment Guide 2022 Armenia Investment Guide 2022